Skip to content

7 Years of famine…must mean 7 years of plenty?

June 28, 2010

I had an “epiphany” just a moment ago (no, I don’t mean in the Biblical sense, and yes, it was VERY good for me!)  It’s time for a sea change.

About a week ago, I wrote a post about needing positive intervention because of how much the horrors of school bullying and violence can get you down.  First, I want to thank each and every one of you who responded, posted comments on Facebook, reached out to me privately. It’s nice to know I’m not alone in feeling overwhelmed by the sheer mountain of work and effort needed to turn this “Titanic.”

But today, something else hit me: for those of you who have known for a while, you may know that I’ve both personally and professionally come through some really ugly stuff in the not-to-distant past.  I realized minutes ago, that the “dark times” literally started 7 years ago this summer.

I won’t go into details here because that’s not what it’s about (and, really, there’s not MUCH value in rehashing history — wouldn’t be in line with the positive mindset). But, borrowing a line from the Bible, I realized that I’ve gone through my “7 years of famine” now…the only way from here is “up.”

It’s time.  I have gone through the veritable fire in so many ways.  I have been down to the absolute depths of despair, sometimes not sure what I should do to make forward progress.  I’ve hung in there for my kids, — and truly, for all the kids SocialSmarts can help — determined not to let them down. I’ve been tested, I’ve been taunted, I’ve been told to give up.

Problem is, “quit” is a four-letter word. And, an evil one!  I know what the outcome is if I give up; I don’t know what happens if I don’t, but I know quitting just isn’t in my genetic and psychological makeup.

So the way I see it, if I’ve had my “7 years of famine,” stands to reason that I can have the pendulum swing the other way. I’m ready for the “7 years of plenty.”  And when it comes, I know I’ll appreciate it so much more because I know what “famine” feels like.  Maybe not literal famine such as there exists in so many parts of this world, but spritual, emotional, psychological famine which can erode your spirit just as badly.

If you don’t believe “feast” can follow “famine,” I point to this: remember that a smile is just a frown turned upside-down.  Time to flip that ol’ famine and get ready to embrace the feast and the many “blessings” that come with it, such as being able to share that abundance with those who are in their own personal desert.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

