Skip to content

If it were easy…

November 16, 2009

Today, I have to write a more light-hearted entry. One that has a little fun.

I was having lunch with a dear friend and top-notch marketing/branding expert to discuss SocialSmarts, how I am personally and professionally trying to make our public education system something to be proud of — somewhere we are PLEASED to send our children.

In the midst of our brainstorming she says to me, “Have you thought about approaching the Gates Foundation?”

Well, duh. Tell me who among us who are trying to do great things and change the world haven’t thought about getting connected with the single-biggest private foundation in the world?  Particularly if you are Pacific Northwest based?

But, it’s not as though it’s an original thought.  It’s not as though I can just pick up the phone, call and ask for an appointment to present.  I mean, do you realize how many other people are wanting to do the same thing?

It’s like Oprah. Again, can I tell you how many times I’ve been told, “Corinne, you need to get on Oprah!  You’re PERFECT for her!”  Got it.  Will just pick up the phone, call and ask to speak to Miss O, ’cause we know she’s just been waiting by the phone to talk to little ‘ol me! (Ok, well, maybe she hasn’t YET, but she SHOULD be, if only she knew, right <wink>).

Point is, it sounds so simple, but it’s not.  If it were easy, anyone could do it. And, frankly, if I had a nickel for each time I have heard those twin phrases, I wouldn’t need to be working at helping schools develop better cultures.  I would just have my moment in the sun at Gates or on Oprah, and could become another one of those “legends” that had success drop in their laps after they were discovered.

Again, it’s not that easy.  Trying to change the world takes work — lots of it.  And, while I’d be more than appreciative of a break, there’s nothing that replaces good old-fashioned elbow-grease. That, in of itself, is a great lesson we can all benefit from; working hard is the best guarantee of a reward. And the reward is so much sweeter when you’ve done something to earn it.

Having said that…if any Gates-ers or Oprah-ites are reading…I MIGHT be waiting by the phone in case you have an open slot:  866 485 4089.  We’d be happy to take your call!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

